Monday, December 1, 2014

2

Guest Post: Diana L. Wicker

Posted in , , ,
Author: Diana L. Wicker

Ethereal Book Reviews is such a lovely name.  I am so excited that you have invited me to share one of my tales with your audience.  I am the Storyteller of Feyron.  I share the tales of lore with anyone who would like to listen. I think, when meeting a new audience for the first time, it is best to start at the beginning.  Wouldn't you agree?

So, for today's tale, let us start with a story from the Age of Beginnings.  The Realm of Feyron has always been.  It is the origin of all things magical, the axis point where all the worlds meet.  There was a time, in the beginning of days, when the worlds were not yet formed and the Faie did not yet exist.

The Keeper of Time

Swimming through the primordial sea, a black serpentine form glided effortlessly, strong muscles propelling her forward as the azure fin rippled along the length of her back flowing behind her in a graceful trail from the base of her tail. The vast expanse of the Unending Sea lay all around her. A milky haze swirled up from the depths mingling with the deep green water as the great leviathan turned her nose towards the deep caverns of black and followed the creamy swirls into the darkness.

Returning to her home in the Stoney Deep, she followed a soft blue light back to the great arch of black stone hidden at the very depths of her realm. The cold waters flowed around, over, and through the archway. As the light flickered, waxing and waning from nearly white to nearly black and back again, she coiled in its glow, the large fan of azure gossamer at the end of her tail spreading before her like a carpet. She watched the undulations as time flowed past. 

She had no words marking the passing of time, for there was no day or night in the darkness of the Stoney Deep. There was only Now and Could Be, for the future is not set in the stone of the deep. It ebbs and flows on the currents of change, always responding to the Now as it unfolds. She enjoyed watching the rhythm of nature, the swirling of the great gas clouds as they moved towards one another, merged, and reformed into something new. The hypnotic rhythm of the light lulled her to sleep and she dreamed about all that Could Be.

The aeons passed, but in time the flickering slowed to a pulsing, the heartbeat of countless stars as worlds took shape bathed in the milky haze that carried the Seeds of Life on the currents of time as they ebbed and flowed through the realms. The changing rhythms stirred her from her dreams and she watched the waves of creation wash over the newly formed worlds.

“Children.” The word floated through her mind like the haze that drifted through the gateway. 
The Could Be of a myriad worlds swirled in the mists before her. 

Slowly she unfurled, the azure fan trailing along the black rocks as she wound around the arch of the gateway, swimming in a slow spiral to the very top. While her realm often felt all encompassing and never ending, in truth there was sky above and a distant shore, but she was loath to leave the depths to seek it out. Her eyes shimmered gold as she searched for the Now of the other place where the milky currents originated.

A warm pool in a basin of black stone fed by a high mountain waterfall came into focus within the gateway, a gentle rain of pink petals showering over the surface of the milky water. The vision broadened revealing a carpet of lush emerald grass, a rainbow of delicate fairies fluttering from flower to flower on a gentle breeze within the meadow. Beyond the pool, mountains of crystal merged with an obsidian wall, both vanishing from sight in either direction. The leviathan passed through the True Gateway, riding on the currents of the swirling creamy haze, seeking out the Now of the hidden meadow.

Rising from the Sacred Pool beneath the tree that was clothed in pink, the small creatures of the meadow scattered before her sudden appearance, fleeing towards the misty forest. Her black scales an iridescent rainbow of colors in the morning sunlight, the great leviathan began to shimmer in a golden light as she moved towards the bank, finally stepping into the grass wearing a new form.

***

I hope you have enjoyed the tale. Thank you so much for letting me share it with your

audience. I do hope you will have me over to visit again.
Books from the Author: 
The Dreamweaver’s Journey: The Age of Awakenings - Book 1
The Guardian Child’s Return: The Age of Awakenings - Book 2
Legacy of Mist and Shadow: The Age of Awakenings - Book 3
*This guest post was made entirely for Ethereal Book Review (EBR)'s use only.  All material above is copyrighted.  Please do not copy any information above (unless cited).

2 comments:

Sunday, November 23, 2014

0

Featured Author: Karen Akins

Posted in , ,
About the Author:
Karen Akins lives in the MidSouth where she writes humorous, light YA sci-fi. When not writing or reading, she loves lightsaber dueling with her two sons and forcing her husband to watch BBC shows with her. 
Karen has been many things in her life: an archery instructor, drummer for the shortest-lived garage band in history, and a shockingly bad tic-tac-toe player. (Taken from Goodreads)

Other Information:

Books Written:
  • Loop (Loop #1)
  • Twist (Loop #2)
Link to Goodreads Account: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6549394.Karen_Akins
Most Popular Book (by the ratings on Goodreads): Loop (Loop #1)
Blog: ----
Link to Author Interview: ----

0 comments:

Saturday, November 22, 2014

0

Book Promotion: Loop by Karen Akins

Posted in , ,
Synopsis:
At a school where Quantum Paradox 101 is a required course and history field trips are literal, sixteen year-old time traveler Bree Bennis excels…at screwing up.

After Bree botches a solo midterm to the 21st century by accidentally taking a boy hostage (a teensy snafu), she stands to lose her scholarship. But when Bree sneaks back to talk the kid into keeping his yap shut, she doesn’t go back far enough. The boy, Finn, now three years older and hot as a solar flare, is convinced he’s in love with Bree, or rather, a future version of her that doesn’t think he’s a complete pain in the arse. To make matters worse, she inadvertently transports him back to the 23rd century with her. 

Once home, Bree discovers that a recent rash of accidents at her school are anything but accidental. Someone is attacking time travelers. As Bree and her temporal tagalong uncover seemingly unconnected clues—a broken bracelet, a missing data file, the art heist of the millennium—that lead to the person responsible, she alone has the knowledge to piece the puzzle together. Knowledge only one other person has. Her future self.

But when those closest to her become the next victims, Bree realizes the attacker is willing to do anything to stop her. In the past, present, or future. 


Information About the Book:
Author: Karen Akins

Link to Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/19286673-loop 
Publisher: St. Martins Griffin
Release Date: October 21, 2014
Links to Buy:
Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Loop-Karen-Akins/dp/1250030986/ref=la_B00MCM9C4Y_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1411009520&sr=1-1
Barnes & Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/loop-karen-akins/1117685339?ean=9781250030986
Indiebound: http://www.indiebound.org/book/9781250030986
Average Rating (from Goodreads): 3.78

Rating from EBR: ----

0 comments:

Thursday, November 20, 2014

0

Featured Book: A Shadowed Soul by Kira Tregoning

Synopsis:
Enemies old and new circle around the Aligerai, waiting for a fatal mistake. One of the Aligerai’s own remains trapped in the Chaos world of Metanoia. And the threat of the soul-eating demons and the end of Cora looms ever closer . . . Sita and her friends Ariene and Roxanne must stay one step ahead of their enemies and find a way to track and defeat the demon Pur. But each of the Aligerai faces their own internal battles. When their enemies strike too close to home, the Aligerai must decide whether to stay together . . . or splinter apart. (Taken from Goodreads)

Information:
Title: A Shadowed Soul
Author(s): Kira R. Tregoning
Average Stars (from Goodreads): 0.00

Excerpt:
Summer heat retreated before the cool of night. On top of a small hill stood a noble mansion, tall and statuesque among the fields and trees that surrounded it. Lights flickered through windows on the lower floors, but no sign of human life could be seen.

Inside, in a bedroom on the second floor, slept Sita Newbury, the heir of the ancient House of Awle. She tossed in her sleep, her long golden hair tangled around her throat. Fine sheets of red satin covered her slim figure, the light material keeping her cool in the late July heat.

Sita turned onto her side, still dreaming, sweat beaded on her brow. A word escaped through her lips: “Owen . . . ”

Another dream began to intrude, chasing away the memories of battles, enemies, and lost lovers. This dream entangled her mind so fully that she began to rise to wakefulness. A woman in the dream—impossibly tall, her dark brown skin glowing softly, eyes full of the universe—called out to her. “Sita. Come to me. I must speak with you. Come to me on the lake.” Sita resisted. Her warm bed embraced her, kept her safe and calm. Why should she leave it in the middle of the night?

“Sita,” the woman called, even louder now. “Sita, come to me now. It is urgent.”

Finally Sita’s eyes opened. The dream stuck with her. She knew the figure, and knew she couldn’t refuse the demand of a goddess. “Fine, fine, fine,” she said. Grumbling to herself, Sita rose from the bed and stumbled into her closet. She lit the lights with a wave of her hand, her power and the house’s inherent magic combining to do the task for her. She thumbed through her clothes before grabbing a simple dress and pulling it on.

An insistent wordless urging crashed against her like wave on a beach. The force of the pounding set Sita’s stomach roiling. She frowned and tsked. “I’m coming, I’m coming!” she said to the air. Shaking her head, the young woman walked through the hall and down the stairs to the foyer. “Stupid Corá, interrupting my sleep. Why can’t she save this for normal hours?” The front door opened of its own accord, the magical house doing its duty by its mistress.

Guided by a bright moon, Sita ambled down a wide field toward the lake to the east of her mansion, the water hidden within the forest. Compared to the heat of the summer days, Sita welcomed the coolness of the night air and was glad to find she was comfortable in just the dress. Moonlight enhanced the waist-length hair flowing behind her. As she entered the forest she discovered the lake through the trees.

Sita picked her way through the last of the grass and reeds by the lake’s shore. The feel of the cool plants and just-damp dirt between her toes made her grin with pleasure. Tiny waves rolled onto the muddy shore, creating a soothing aquatic song. Her hemline would be ruined, and she would make sure Corá heard a great deal about the subject before she left tonight. This was, after all, the Lady Corá’s idea.

The woods around her breathed with life, even in the middle of the night. Crickets chirped all around, and fireflies illuminated the trunks of trees with yellow dots. Night fliers winged their silent ways through the shadowed branches. An owl hooted nearby.

A ripple on the water caught Sita’s attention. She stepped closer to the lake, the cold liquid just lapping at her toes. Something began to rise from the water. Sita waited impatiently.

Finally the goddess Corá floated above the lake, her feet just on the surface. Her body was transparent, which only made sense—she was made of the clear blue waters, and moonlight shone straight through her. The being walked over the water. Droplets sprayed off her form in an invisible breeze. “Thank you for coming,” said Corá. The multi-toned voice of the goddess felt like a caress across the skin, and Sita noticed that the lake and forest seemed brighter and more vibrant when the goddess spoke.

Sita crossed her arms and stuck out her chin. “Do you realize what time it is? Iwas asleep.”

“I apologize, but I need to speak with you, Sita. I promise it is important.”

“It better be,” Sita grumbled. “Oh, and thanks to you, my hem is ruined. Just had to tell you that.”

Corá crossed her own watery arms. “The more you complain, little Earth child, the longer you will be out here, my dear.” Sita sighed and allowed her shoulders to slump just slightly. Satisfied, Corá continued. “I need to warn you. There is something happening, something that could change life on both worlds as we know it.” The droplets flung away from her more rapidly now. “I cannot see what it is, but I feel it building. Darci is planning something that could end life as we know it.”

Sita clenched her hands into fists. “Um, duh. It’s called a war. We know that already. What else’ve you got?”

A drop of water slashed across Sita’s cheek and drew a shallow line of blood. She jumped and touched the cut with a finger. The injury stung, but the pain soon faded and the bleeding stopped.

“Don’t be rude, Sita. When I speak, you should listen. It is not often I give such warnings.” Sita bowed her head, placating the goddess. “Now, this is not about the war, not exactly. This is something bigger, more heinous, more . . . well, evil.

“I fear for my sister, Earth, as you call her. The nature of this evil is aimed at her. I am sorry I cannot tell you anything more specific, but I am not a strong seer, and I only See the things relevant to me and mine.”

Sita groaned. “Let me guess. You want me to do something about it, right?”

“In a way. Just see what you can observe.” The water of Corá’s body ran in slow swirls around her face. “Also, you should consider bringing those you love here to Corá to live with you.”

“What do you mean?”

The swirls across Corá’s watery skin moved faster, creating stronger currents and distorting her features. Waves on the lake that had been small and gentle now churned, and more cold water engulfed Sita’s feet. “Have you not been listening? Earth will be attacked. Anyone caught in the crossfire will be destroyed, obliterated. Your safety is here.”

“I don’t think so. I’m going back to school in the fall. What about that?”

“You live here. What do you mean you are going back?”

Sita bit her lip. The goddess was sometimes less understanding of human affairs, such as now. “This is not my home. I’m on vacation. I’m going back home to Maryland in the fall.”

“You should stay here.” Corá stamped a foot, water spraying all over the girl. “Besides, have you not been making the mansion livable?” She shifted to view over Sita’s head. Sita turned to follow her gaze. Trees bent and swayed out of the way at Corá’s command to reveal the mansion’s upper stories. “It looks quite homey to me.” She paused, considering. “Perhaps you do not know this yet, but there is a stable of some size in the far part of your property. You might want to see it.”

Sita’s shoulders drooped. “You’re trying to keep me here, aren’t you?”

“Yes.”

The young woman’s features scrunched up into an angry scowl. “I’m going back to school in the fall. I don’t care what you say, I’m going back. My sister is there, my friends are there, and my school is there. I won’t abandon them so I can live here in luxury and boredom.”

Corá’s face of water twisted into a maelstrom. She snarled. “Stop being so selfish and do your duty. You were born to protect my sister, you were born to protect me, so do it!”

Just as the goddess reached out to embrace her, Sita ran into the forest and back to the mansion, leaving a distraught Corá behind.

0 comments:

Wednesday, November 19, 2014

0

Featured Author: Kira Tregoning

Posted in , ,

PICTURE UNAVAILABLE
About the Author:
Kira R. Tregoning is a language enthusiast, writer, and book lover. She graduated from the University of Maryland. An avid reader, she owns a large number of books, which somehow all fit under the same roof, and which span genres from historical fiction, science fiction, and fantasy to classic fiction, Shakespeare, and the great novels. Her first book, "Rise of the Aligerai," was released Dec. 13, 2012. She also runs the book review blog Fantastical Reads.

Other Information:

Books Written:
  • Rise of the Aligerai (Book 1)
  • A Shadowed Soul
Link to Goodreads Account: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6767724.Kira_R_Tregoning
Most Popular Book (by the ratings on Goodreads): Rise of the Aligerai (Book 1)
Blog: http://theworldofcora.wordpress.com
Link to Author Interview: ----

0 comments:

Sunday, November 16, 2014

0

Featured Book: Bitter Candy by Lily Ableman

Posted in , ,
Synopsis:
Hilarie Walsh fits in with her high school about as well as a Satan worshipper at a Christian book club. Not only is she the sole middle class girl in a sea of filthy rich kids, but - thanks to her ex's lies - everyone also thinks she's a slut. As a result, she's completely given up on her love life.

Enter senior year - and Eric Lawington, the arrogant but incredibly sexy son of a billionaire.
Let the sparks fly... (Taken from Goodreads)











Information:
Title: Bitter Candy
Author(s): Lily Ableman
Smashwords: ----
Average Stars (from Goodreads): 3.77

0 comments:

0

Book Promotion: Bitter Candy by Lily Ableman

Posted in , ,
Synopsis:
Hilarie Walsh fits in with her high school about as well as a Satan worshipper at a Christian book club. Not only is she the sole middle class girl in a sea of filthy rich kids, but - thanks to her ex's lies - everyone also thinks she's a slut. As a result, she's completely given up on her love life.

Enter senior year - and Eric Lawington, the arrogant but incredibly sexy son of a billionaire. 

Let the sparks fly...










Information About the Book:
Author: Lily Ableman
Link to Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/22551342-bitter-candy
Publisher: ----
Release Date: September 16, 2014
Links to Buy:
Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00NNSYG42/ref=x_gr_w_bb?ie=UTF8&tag=httpwwwgoodco-20&linkCode=as2&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B00NNSYG42&SubscriptionId=1MGPYB6YW3HWK55XCGG2
Average Rating (from Goodreads): 3.77 

Rating from EBR: ----

0 comments:

0

Featured Author: Lily Ableman

Posted in , ,

PICTURE UNAVAILABLE
About the Author:
For the record, my actual name is not Lily Ableman, but please call me that anyway.

I'm a writer with a terrible tendency to procrastinate and an overabundance of pessimism.

I am also a student at the University of Chicago with a considerable lack of ambition and again, a terrible tendency to procrastinate.

I like Meg Cabot, Washed Out, New Girl, Gone with the Wind, and sushi. I do NOT like long walks on the beach.

I like to read and write romances.

Other Information:
Books Written:
  • Bitter Candy
Link to Goodreads Account: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/8328704.Lily_Ableman
Most Popular Book (by the ratings on Goodreads): Bitter Candy
Blog: http://jovialcynicism.wordpress.com/
Link to Author Interview: http://etherealbookreviews.blogspot.com/2014/11/author-interview-lily-ableman.html

0 comments:

Thursday, November 13, 2014

0

Author Interview: Alexis Bass

Posted in , ,



About the Author:

Alexis Bass grew up in Washington, went to college in Arizona, and spent her early twenties in Seattle. She currently lives in Northern California with Dylan McKay, her gorgeous and rambunctious golden retriever. She loves good fashion and good TV as much as a good book, and is a huge advocate of the three C’s: coffee, chocolate, and cheese. LOVE AND OTHER THEORIES is her first novel. Visit her at www.alexisbassbooks.com or on Twitter: @alexisbasswrite

Interview:

What made you want to become a writer?
I always had stories in my head. Even before I could write, I would draw pictures and dictate the words to my mom or dad. They were nice enough to indulge me. :) I continued writing, picture books with my best friend who lived next door when I was in elementary school; screen plays with my best friend in middle school. It’s still my favorite form of self-expression, and what I like to do in my free time.

Where do you get your inspirations from?
Everywhere. Usually my stories are about dilemma’s that aren’t always easy to define, problems that aren’t necessarily black and white, but tough things in life that you just have to hurdle your way through. Those are my favorite things to explore when I write; those are what inspire me.
 
Other than writing books, what else do you do in your free time?

Reading (haha, of course!). I also enjoy traveling, swimming, staying up late talking with my friends, going to the movies, and going for runs with my dog.
 
If you could work with another author, who would it be?

This question is so hard! There are so many authors I admire. It might be fun to work with Alain
de Botton, because of the philosophical element he brings into his work. It would also be fun to pick Bret Easton Ellis’s brain for dark humor, or Stephanie Perkin’s brain for happily-ever-after romance (something I have not yet mastered—fair warning ;)).


 What are major themes of your work?
Friendship, loyalty, love, regret. 

What do you think people look for in a book?
Above all, I think they want to be entertained. They want a story they can lose themselves in, or characters they feel like they know personally, and to chase an outcome that will be satisfying in ways they hadn’t quite imagined.

 Are there any recent works you admire?
For series, I really love The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater, and also Leigh Bardugo’s Grisha Trilogy which wrapped up perfectly with Ruin and Rising this spring. I loved Julie Murphy’s Side Effects May Vary, E. Lockhart’s We Were Liars, and Amanda Maciel’s Tease.
Questions About the Book (Love and Other Theories):

Which character in the book do you think you can relate to the most?
I can relate to all of them in a small way. Especially their apprehension about love and graduation—I definitely felt that way when I was seventeen, though I never took their extreme route to finding a solution. Aubrey’s best friend Melissa is a lot like I was when it comes to her motto, “better paranoid than sorry,” and how she’s extra cautious over things that don’t require extra caution.

 How did you come up with the character's names?
A lot of them are inside jokes with my friends from high school, who I’m still very close to, despite how far away we all live. I didn’t use any of their names, no names of any ex-boyfriends either. Shelby is named for Shelby from Steel Magnolias, a movie one of our mother’s introduced to us and we found ourselves watching a lot. Trip is a name we were all obsessed with—me in particular. (And we NEVER met boys named Trip, go figure.) But many of the names I just pulled from the top of my head or off a baby-naming website.

 What gave you the inspiration to write this book?
The quote by Marilyn Monroe, which appears at the beginning of the book, was a huge inspiration: “A wise girl kisses but doesn't love, listens but doesn't believe, and leaves before she is left.” I wondered what it would be like for a group of girls to apply this to their lives, treating avoiding heartbreak as a serious business, and how they were going to learn that it’s much more complex than they think. 

*The questions and answers of this author interview are only for Ethereal Book Reviews to use.  If you would like to get interviewed, please visit our "Contact Us" page and send us an e-mail.

0 comments:

Wednesday, November 12, 2014

2

Featured Book: Love and Other Theories by Alexis Bass

Posted in , ,
Synopsis:
That’s the secret to dating in high school. By giving as little as they expect to get in return, seventeen-year-old Aubrey Housing and her three best friends have made it to the second semester of their senior year heartbreak-free. And it’s all thanks to a few simple rules: don’t commit, don’t be needy, and don’t give away your heart.

So when smoking-hot Nathan Diggs transfers to Lincoln High, it shouldn’t be a big deal. At least that’s what Aubrey tells herself. But Nathan’s new-boy charm, his kindness, and his disarming honesty throw Aubrey off her game and put her in danger of breaking the most important rule of all: Don’t fall in love.
(Taken from Goodreads)








Information:
Title: Love and Other Theories
Author(s): Alexis Bass
Smashwords: ----
Average Stars (from Goodreads): 3.88

2 comments:

Tuesday, November 11, 2014

0

Book Promotion: Love and Other Theories by Alexis Bass

Posted in , , ,
Synopsis:
If you want more, you have to give less.

That’s the secret to dating in high school. By giving as little as they expect to get in return, seventeen-year-old Aubrey Housing and her three best friends have made it to the second semester of their senior year heartbreak-free. And it’s all thanks to a few simple rules: don’t commit, don’t be needy, and don’t give away your heart.

So when smoking-hot Nathan Diggs transfers to Lincoln High, it shouldn’t be a big deal. At least that’s what Aubrey tells herself. But Nathan’s new-boy charm, his kindness, and his disarming honesty throw Aubrey off her game and put her in danger of breaking the most important rule of all: Don’t fall in love.






Information About the Book:
Author: Alexis Bass 
Link to Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18480081-love-and-other-theories 
Publisher: Harper Teen
Release Date: December 31, 2014
Links to Buy ($2.99):
Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Love-Other-Theories-Alexis-Bass/dp/0062275321
Barnes & Noble:
http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/love-and-other-theories-alexis-bass/1119128259?ean=9780062275325
HarperCollins: http://www.harpercollins.com/9780062275325/love-and-other-theories
Average Rating (from Goodreads):3.91
Rating from EBR: ----

0 comments:

Monday, November 10, 2014

0

Featured Author: Alexis Bass

Posted in , , ,
About the Author:
Alexis Bass grew up in Washington, went to college in Arizona, and spent her early twenties in Seattle. She currently lives in Northern California with Dylan McKay, her gorgeous and rambunctious golden retriever. She loves good fashion and good TV as much as a good book, and is a huge advocate of the three C’s: coffee, chocolate, and cheese. LOVE AND OTHER THEORIES is her first novel. Visit her at www.alexisbassbooks.com or on Twitter: @alexisbasswrite 

Other Information:

Books Written:
  • Love and Other Theories
Link to Goodreads Account: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7264073.Alexis_Bass
Most Popular Book (by the ratings on Goodreads): Love and Other Theories
Blog: http://alexisbassbooks.com/blog/
Link to Author Interview: http://etherealbookreviews.blogspot.com/2014/11/author-interview-alexis-bass.html

0 comments:

Sunday, November 9, 2014

0

Giveaway: My Forever, and Beautifully Broken by Kira Adams

Posted in , ,
Synopsis:
Grief and loss can make a person act out in all the worst kinds of ways. Madalynne Johnson has always been a bit of a handful, but with the loss of her brother, separation of her parents, and her boyfriends unexpected news of joining the army she has gone into a full on tailspin.

Parker Grant experienced loss firsthand when his brother took his own life. Darkness closed in. Madalynne saved him; showed him the light. And even though he isn’t sure what the future holds--he wants Madalynne and this time he won’t give up without a fight.
(Taken from Goodreads)

Information (about book):
Author(s): Kira Adams
Rating (On Goodreads): 3.73
Rating by EBR: ----
Release Date (Estimation): May 18, 2014
Link to Review on EBR: ----

Synopsis:
Jacqueline Blunt hasn’t had an easy life. In fact, she’s had anything but. From a drug addicted mother to being bounced around in foster care, Jacqueline longed for one thing—normalcy. Lee Bennett had everything he could ever want—girls falling all over him, a dream job, money. The one thing he was missing? Passion.

Sometimes the ones worth fighting for don’t know their worth. Sometimes being broken is beautiful. This is a story of strength, courage, hope, faith, and love. This is Beautifully Broken.

Beautifully Broken is the second book in the Infinite Love series.
(Taken from Goodreads)

Information (about book):
Author(s): Kira Adams
Rating (On Goodreads): 4.19
Rating by EBR: ----
Release Date (Estimation): June 5, 2014
Link to Review on EBR: ----

Information (about giveaway):
Start date: November 9, 2014
End date: November 30, 2014
Format of Prize: Physical copy (USA), or ebook (International)
Information need to participate: 
  • mailing address in proper format (if won)
  • Read "Terms and Conditions" before entering

*We are not responsible for the damages, lost prize, etc. We are NOT the ones who mail the prize to you, therefore, Ethereal Book Reviews is solely not responsible for anything.

0 comments:

Saturday, November 8, 2014

0

Author Interview: Krista Pakeresht

Posted in , ,


PICTURE UNAVAILABLE

About the Author:

Krista Pakseresht has always been a dreamer from the first time she opened her eyes.  Creating worlds through words is one thing she is truly talented at.  She specializes in Young Adult/New Adult romance, horror, action, fantasy, and non-fiction under the pen name Kira Adams.

She is the author of the Infinite Love series, the Foundation series, the Darkness Falls series, and the Looking Glass series.

Interview:
What made you want to become a writer?

Honestly, when I was younger, especially during the summers or on vacations I would spend 80% of my time reading. I rarely spent time with friends and instead chose to lose myself in great books and their enticing plots. I read everything from young adult romances to horror and then I would lock myself inside of my room and attempt to create my own stories with similar plots or characters, just so I could feel an ounce of what those stories made me feel. 


Eventually, my creativity grew and I didn’t need similar plots or characters to feel invested in my characters or their stories.

Where do you get your inspirations from?
Real life and the trials and tribulations we all go through on a daily basis. What I write about isn’t pretty, but it is real.

Other than writing books, what else do you do in your free time?

I love to sing, but haven’t done it in years. I also have a passion for film acting as well as theatre acting. I’m a Taurus, so I love being in the spotlight in one way or another. I also love spending time with friends and family.

If you could work with another author, who would it be?

I would love to work for Colleen Hoover. She is experiencing amazing success in our genre these days and I would love to pick her brain even just for a moment. I would love to get some tips and tricks from her and be able to absorb everything like a sponge.

What are major themes of your work?

Depression, bullying, love, grief, self-harm, suicide, addictions, disorders, etc.

What do you think people look for in a book?

They are looking for relatable characters and an enticing plot. Something that keeps them turning the pages from cover to cover.

Are there any recent works you admire?

I recently read Finding Cinderella by Colleen Hoover. Surprisingly, it was the first book I ever picked up of hers, but it took little to no time at all for me to fall completely in love with her characters and her writing style.

Questions About the Book (Pieces of Me):

Which character in the book do you think you can relate to the most?
Probably Daniel, the main character. It was as if he didn’t know there was something missing in his life until “Cinderella” walked into his life. I think that is something a lot of us experience in life.


How do you come up with your character's names?

I always like to go against the grind and use names that I find intriguing and maybe haven’t been overused. Normally you won’t find a Sarah or Ashley, Jeff or David in my books. Instead you will find Peyton, Madalynne, Parker, Jace, Brooklyn, etc. I’ve been told my characters names are definitely a selling point to my novels, and I wholeheartedly agree.

What gave you the inspiration to write Pieces of Me?
A lot of real life elements; real personalities, real appearances, real conversations, real situations, and real problems. Pieces of Me is the most realistic piece of fiction I have ever written. So many parts of myself or people I care about were weaved throughout. I think that is why people find it the easiest to relate to.


*The questions and answers of this author interview are only for Ethereal Book Reviews to use.  If you would like to get interviewed, please visit our "Contact Us" page and send us an e-mail.

0 comments:

Friday, November 7, 2014

0

Featured Book: Beautifully Broken by Kira Adams

Posted in , , , ,
Synopsis:
Jacqueline Blunt hasn’t had an easy life. In fact, she’s had anything but. From a drug addicted mother to being bounced around in foster care, Jacqueline longed for one thing—normalcy. Lee Bennett had everything he could ever want—girls falling all over him, a dream job, money. The one thing he was missing? Passion.

Sometimes the ones worth fighting for don’t know their worth. Sometimes being broken is beautiful. This is a story of strength, courage, hope, faith, and love. This is Beautifully Broken.

Beautifully Broken is the second book in the Infinite Love series
. (Taken from Goodreads)








Information:
Title: Beautifully Broken
Author(s): Kira Adams
Average Stars (from Goodreads): 4.19

Excerpt:
Jacqueline

“What the hell do you think you’re doing?” I asked, incredulously.

To be honest, it hadn’t angered me in the slightest. It had just taken me off guard. In fact, I was positive Lee noticed me begin to kiss him back. But he had no right to be kissing me like that. We knew hardly anything about one another and I felt like he thought I was easy.

I mean, how many other girls had fallen for his smooth ways?

He rubbed his jaw, his facial expression a mix of shock and amusement; his hazel eyes shining even brighter. “You have one hell of a right hook.”

I couldn’t help but laugh. He looked so innocent, so powerless in the moment. I broke out into a round of chuckles. “Come on Smooth Operator, I’m going to show you where I live.” And with that I turned on my heel—leaving him wide-eyed and open mouthed behind me.

When we were both buckled in and on the road, Lee broke the silence. “You’re like the craziest girl I’ve ever met.” My heart dropped into my stomach.

This was it—he hadn’t even set foot in my state for longer than thirty minutes and I had already scared him off. I was really some kind of freak.

I slammed on my breaks, causing Lee’s body to jerk forward. He put his hands up to stop him from flying into the dashboard. “Just rip it off.” Was all I said as I stared at him, unable to move.

His eyes grew wider when he saw the lights of cars behind us. They were honking, swerving, cussing, and passing us. “Are you really going to sit here—in the middle of the road? You’re going to get us killed!” Real fear was emanating off his voice and it was enough to feel validated.

“If you’re going to break up with me—you should just do it now. Get it over with.” I looked him in the eyes this time.

“What? We’re not even dating...” Was all he could muster up in response. He was still nervously watching the commotion in the rearview mirror.

I had created quite the pile-up. Cars were flashing their brights, honking, and motioning me to get off the road.

I stifled a laugh and floored it out of there.

“You’re insane,” Lee said again, only this time it was in a low whisper.

I tore my eyes off the road to meet his, only to find mischief and mystery dancing across them. I might have been hallucinating, but I think I also saw Lee turned on. He kept biting his lip, and running his hand over his fuzzy shaved head.

“Pull over.”

“What?” I asked, puzzled as to what his motives were.

“Pull over,” he repeated in the exact same tone and I kid you not—I had never been more turned on in my life.

Before I knew it, I had taken his advice and we were parked outside a local park I used to frequent. It was late, around eight at night and it was dark; not pitch dark though. There were no patrons around. I put the car in park and was sure my heartbeat could be heard across the world.

Lee unbuckled his seatbelt when I parked and shifted in his seat to face me. “I’m not going to kiss you again until you ask for it.”

I looked at him, my jaw down to my knees. “What makes you think I would let you kiss me again?” It was all I had been fantasizing about since he had stolen the first kiss from me. It consumed my every thought. But I was not going to tell him that. I was going to remain strong.

“Oh, when I’m done with you—you’re going to be begging for it,” he said in the cockiest tone I had ever heard.

“Cocky much?” I asked, snidely.

“Confident,” Lee responded calmly, grinning back at me.

And then I could feel his warm breath in the crook of my neck, just below my ear, dancing on my skin. My breathing became shallow, and I wondered how he knew where my spot was instantly and the crazy things it would do to me.

If his lips or tongue made their way anywhere towards my neck I was a goner for sure. 


I was holding my own. My poker face had not wavered, but my madly beating heart and breathing were a dead giveaway.

“How ya doing over there?” Lee whispered in my ear.

“I’m fine, absolutely fine,” I gulped out, attempting to sound confident.

That’s when his lips found the bottom of my ear and he kissed it and gently sucked on it, causing me to literally bite my tongue off as I squealed with pleasure.

“What was that?” Lee asked, putting his ear to my mouth. His neck was irresistibly close and all I could smell was his intoxicating scent. A mix of his cologne and pure pheromones.

Lee backed up again and began nibbling my right ear. Is it getting hot in here? Or is it just me...

Thankfully he hadn’t messed with my deadly spot since he began his treacherous reign on my body. I would probably leave horny as hell—but a winner nonetheless.

I wondered if Lee was finding any pleasure at all from his torture raid on me and my body—but I could tell from his smile and chuckles that he was enjoying himself far too much.

“Still don’t want to kiss me?” Lee puckered his lips animatedly.

“Eww! I’d rather kiss a frog!” I made a stink face, pulling away from him, half-heartedly.

“Now you’re asking for it!” Lee squealed, heading straight for my neck. At first he was simply trailing it with his breath, close enough to drive me wild, yet not touching me. My whole body stiffened; my senses heightened. It was like he had found the jackpot. Winner winner, chicken dinner.

He didn’t waste any time trailing it with his fingers lightly in amazement how my body twitched and jerked from the simple touch.

He pressed his lips to my neck and I melted into him, breathing increasing, eyes fluttering shut.

I moaned loudly as his tongue slid up and down the base of my neck—my whole body was shuddering, my heart rate was off the charts, and my breathing almost to hyperventilating. I wanted nothing more than to feel his lips on mine again. To feel the roughness they had—the passion.

Then I felt his warm breath on my ear again. “You’re crazy Jacqueline.”

I looked at him with fire in my eyes.

“Straight up nut job,” he smiled.

I sat up straighter, getting more heated by the moment.

“But that’s what makes you so damn irresistible.” He ran his finger across my lips slowly, delicately, licking his own at the same time. He was staring at my lips—I was transfixed upon his.

Shit.

I guess this means I lost.

0 comments:

Thursday, November 6, 2014

0

Review of Locks: Rapunzel Unhinged by Sarah J. Pepper

Posted in , , ,

Synopsis:

Rapunzel isn’t the stereotypical Damsel in Distress. Her Bad-Boy Prince Charming is a renowned mercenary, and their Happy Ending plays out like a bad movie. However, she is determined to breakout from her tower prison—love be damned—and do it in a fabulous pair of heels. 
***
Gunned down by the Mercenary, the deadliest assassin in The Badass Archives, isn’t exactly Rapunzel’s end-game. Falling for him isn’t either, but his Rated-R demeanor is strangely charming. Even though most girls wouldn’t fall for their captors, Rapunzel isn’t like most dames. Her major girl-boner for the Mercenary is so pathetic it verges on cliché. Yet, in spite of his appeal, Rapunzel must escape before she’s locked away in the Château de Immortelle’s highest tower—forever  (Taken from Goodreads)

Stars Given:★★★★★

Overall View:
I just love to read retellings of well known fairy tales.  It really brings me back to my childhood.  This book, like many of the retellings that I have read, is great! Another book to put down on my to-read-again list.  What made this story so special is that the main character isn't a Damsel in Distress waiting for her prince to save her.  No, this character made me proud that I am female.  With so many books out there, most of the stories portray the female lead as a weak character who is often guided by her prince.  This story gave me hope that one day, stories would stop revolving around a weak female.  Of course, it is fine to be weak in certain situations, but with the literature world dominated by mostly weaker female characters, it is refreshing to find a book like this.  I am not painting an image that ALL authors place the female in a weaker role on purpose, but sometimes I can see the "Damsel in Distress" role creeping up behind the scenes of the story.  Well, needless to say, everyone needs to read this book! I highly recommend it for people who enjoy fairy tales and strong female leads.

Blog Tour Giveaway:

a Rafflecopter giveaway


 photo Locks.jpg

0 comments: